Wednesday, May 2, 2012

The 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman (CBR-IV #17)

Cannonball Read IV: Book #17/52
Published: 1992
Pages: 172
Genre: Nonfiction/Self help/Christian

I read this as part of a group study my husband and I go to with some other young married couples. I normally an not a huge fan of self-help type books, but I was surprised to actually learn quite a bit by reading this one. 

The premise is pretty simple - everyone is primarily dominant in one or two of the five love languages. The five love languages are: Words of Affirmation, Quality Time, Receiving Gifts, Acts of Service, and Physical Touch. My primary love languages are Quality Time and Acts of Service. My husband is Words of Affirmation and Physical Touch. The book explains each of these and how to better understand someone who has a different love language than you. It's very simple, but not something people tend to pick up on their own. 

Although this book is for married couples (or would work for anyone in a committed relationship), a lot of the ideas can branch beyond that to help you deal with all sorts of other people in your life -- family, friends, co-workers -- not just your spouse or significant other. 

It is based on Christian principles as well, but the primary message is pretty universal and could utilized by just about anyone. It's a very short read, but full of really good information. Highly recommended for anyone in a relationship or anyone just looking to get along with or understand others a little better.

No comments:

Post a Comment